10 M-A Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

1 min read

On Wednesday, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the 2020 National Merit semifinalists. Based on the PSAT scores juniors took last October, the cutoff for California in 2020 was a NMSQT Selection Index score of 221. Winners achieve scores in the top 1% of their state. This year, ten Menlo-Atherton seniors were among approximately 16,000 highschoolers nationwide who achieved this award. They will have the opportunity to compete for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million.

The semi-finalists for Class of 2021 are as follows:

Rachel Park
Sathvik Nori
Nate Baxter
Andrew Morris
Peter Koenig
Alex Waitz
Nicholas Way
Anika Bjerknes
Gavin Plume
Dana Lau

Sheryl Chen is a senior and Editor-in-Chief. She hopes to expand her knowledge on issues pertinent to M-A and the local community. She is also a member of M-A's debate team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog